Ten Words That Remind me of Songs

Mix Tape Masterpiece:You make a new friend. Make them a mixtape (or playlist, for the younger folks) that tells them who you are through song.

So it wasn’t as easy as I thought to come up with songs that I think paint an accurate picture of me. So, I decided to go with a chain letter someone sent me back in the Myspace days. I didn’t remember the rules, but these were the first songs that came to mind when I thought of each of these words as well as the specific verses.

It felt like reliving…middle school. I’m going to go listen to Blink 182 while wearing Dickies. 

 

[If anyone decides to try this on their blog, let me know so I can check out the songs!]

 

 


 

1.GRIEF


 

I never thought your threats would come good
You never did what you said you would

” Edward is Dedward”

2. Anxiety


 

I get it, I get it, I’m living too hard and it’s time that I stop it
But rising on up and then tumbling down well it’s part of the process

“Can’t Sleep”

3. Silly


 

She reached into the bra, pulled a .22 from her knockers
And laid it down flat, finger tapping on the trigger spine,
“you wanna paint the town whatever colors we can find?”

“Maxine”


4. Obsession


 

The plan was to drink until the pain over
but what’s worse, the pain or the hangover?

“Dark Fantasy”


5. Optimism


 

Sleep, go to sleep
Just lay down your weary head
Dream, sweetly dream
Dream about tomorrow instead

“Sit and Dream”


6.Instinct


 

[Words not necessary]

“Abrasive”


7. Love


You don’t ask for no diamond rings (Diamond rings)
No delicate string of pearls (String of pearls)
That’s why I wrote this song to sing
My beautiful girl

“The Girl”


9. Loneliness


If I would know you, would you know me

“Claire De Lune”

 


10. Pumped


[Words not necessary]

“I Can See It In Your Face”


 

 

Leave a Reply

