Freewrite #2: Towards The Last Chance

This is a fictional work and a free writing exercise. The Prompt used: Streetlight Manifesto– “A moment of Silence”

I remembered the words the way I remember every bad thing I had ever done. By their result. A song playing somewhere in the past, predicting my moves right up until the point of no return–the price included. There were still a few choices left to be made. Too few to make up for all the ones I had already made, but just enough to do something right.

Right on cue, the trumpets winded down and the guitar picked up with an upbeat riff. Killing the engine, I got out of the car. With the lyrics lingering in my mind, I began walking towards The Last chance.

Lyrics:

“Our days were numbered and the reaper tipped the hourglass,

The final mayday of our sinking ship had come and passed

Oh! To the west, you don’t know what it is you’re running from

And everybody’s laughing loud

Your last chance to make your mother and your father proud”

Leave a Reply

